#IsItOk

Written a couple of days ago when I had no internet signal!

I really enjoyed the Rio Summer Olympics 2016. I’ve always loved the Olympics since being little, winter and summer games. It’s when I discovered how exciting sport, different kinds of sports, could be. I’m British and have always been very proud to cheer on Team GB. In the 70’s and 80’s there were a lot of scary women from East Germany and the USSR… Steroids were often mentioned and following recent findings it sounds like Russia as we know it now still likes to enhance its sports men and women!  I always wondered why we never did well!

To finally have the Olympics in London in 2012 was awesome. To not go down wasn’t nice but we got over it! Just seeing it on tv was great and to see TeamGB get loads of medals was bloody fantastic!! 

Then to watch the Paralympics 2012 and see what these super humans could achieve was stunning. 

So Rio 2016… TeamGB were were right up there. I hardly slept for two weeks needing to soak up as much sport and medal action as I could. This was the Great Britain I’d wanted to support in my early years, there was no stopping them and the medal tally kept going up and up. 

Then the post Olympic slump… I thought that was it, that I had two years to wait til the next Winter Olympics. I was feeling quite down actually, very low and struggling to do much. Life was getting me down. I’m now registered disabled after being diagnosed with Fibromyalgia and Chronic Fatigue Syndrome in August 2013 and I have a lot of bad days and nights. 

So one morning when my energy was down I picked up the remote to start channel surfing. The TV must have been left on Channel 4 so I never made it to Netflix, I started watching the Rio Paralympic coverage… And I’m still watching! 

One more day left… I really am going to be bereft… I’m going to have to re-join the ‘normal’ world! I don’t like that world… I want to stay in the Channel 4 ‘Paralympic World!’ I want it to be normal for tv presenters to be in wheelchairs or have a noticeable disability. I want to be amazed and encouraged by the power and strength that our Paralympians have shown  during every race. I don’t want to go back to being disabled in the world I lived in until two weeks ago! I want to be a part of the world that The Last Leg and Channel 4 has created, I want to see disabled presenters on TV more. I want it to be the norm and to be part of an inclusive and accessible world!

I want to be proud of who I am and not embarrassed or ashamed of my disability. I don’t want to worry about someone not seeing my walking stick and knocking into me. I don’t want to be scared of what will happen the next time I go out of the house. Supermarket shopping shouldn’t be a challenge. 

I hope that many young children with disabilities will have been inspired by the Rio Paralympics 2016… I hope they will help to make the world a better place for them and future generations of disabled people. Let’s make this world a place full of super humans! 

I just want to be proud of who I am in the future! Not to always feel the need to say sorry I have a disability!

#IsItOk was a way of able bodied and disabled people to ask questions at the Rio Paralympics on Channel Four’s ‘The Last Leg.’

So I want to ask #IsItOk to see disability as a restriction to someone’s life? And I say… NO it’s not!

I really hope the British media will build on what’s just happened over the last 11 days and embrace the Super Humans who’ve been such inspiring presenters and reporters of the Paralympics!

Leave a Reply

