Cooking With Yorkshire Rapeseed Oil

on

I was excited to hear that Yorkshire Rapeseed Oil are going to be at the BBC Good Food Show in Harrogate next month. 

Imagine how giddy I was when I opened a package in the mail enclosing a recipe book and bottle of Yorkshire Rapeseed Oil.  

 I’ve been a convert of Rapeseed Oil for a couple of years and the fact this is grown and made in Yorkshire ticks even more boxes for me. Local produce!

The recipe book has over 100 recipes in it from savoury to sweet and everything in between!  

The oils are available in different flavours, I’d been sent a bottle of Oak Smoked Rapeseed Oil.  This oil has been smoked at Staal Smokehouse in East Yorkshire. Other flavours available are Basil, Chilli, Garlic, Ginger, and Lemon. With rapeseed oil you can fry, roast, drizzle, bake… The list goes on. 

Yorkshire Rapeseed Oil also make dressings and mayonnaise!

For tea last night I made a Broccolli, Potato and Cheddar Frittata from page 79 of the book and an Almond and Apple Cake from page 39. 

I fried the onions and broccoli in the smoked rapeseed oil and the kitchen smelt good. (Dirty burger good… Pulled meat good!) I think the oak smoked rapeseed oil will definitely work better on meat, the oil will be richer and give more depth of flavour.

   

  

Even better the frittata was made using onions, potatoes and sprouting broccoli from our allotment. 

I used straight unflavoured Rapeseed Oil in the cake, I was worried there might be an aftertaste with the Oak Smoked version. The cake needed 15 minutes extra in the oven as it was still wet in the middle. Once baked it was delicious…also good cold!

  
I had a bag of apples in the freezer from my friend Julie’s allotment, always great to use locally grown produce. 

The smoked oil smelt like a good rib house, I will definitely be buying some good fillet steak soon to rub some of this rich oil onto before cooking. 

If you usually go for olive oil or butter when cooking just remember other oils and fats are available. I’ve used different grades of rapeseed oil and the Yorkshire Rapeseed oil is very rich in consistency and colour, making it a perfect ingredient rather than just an oil for frying.  

The recipe book has some really nice recipes and meal ideas in it and I’ll definitely be trying a few more over the coming weeks.

I was given the Yorkshire Rapeseed Oil and Cook Book by BBC Good Food Show as I’m part of their Blogger Community for their Spring Show at Harrogate International Conference Centre in April 2016. 
For more information go to the Yorkshire Rapeseed Oil website.

All comments are my own. 

 Tickets for the Spring Show in April can be ordered through this link

https://www.theticketfactory.com/gfsh/online/

Order using code BL20 before 10/04/2016 and you will get 20% discount *see t&cs below.

*20% off Adult/Over 65s tickets only. Not valid on VIP or with any other offer. Ends 10/04/16. Standard Supertheatre seat included with Super tickets, subject to availability, Gold seat upgrade £3. Offer valid on Value tickets where available. Details correct at time of print. £1.50 fulfilment fee per advance order. Good Food® Good Food Logo © BBC Worldwide. Organised and presented by River Street Events.

Leave a Reply

