Cherry Chocolate Fudge Bundt Snowman Cake

on

As you’ve probably guessed, I loved my Nordic Ware Bundt tins. Some of my tins are winter themed so now it’s December I can use them as much as I want, one of these is my 3D snowman tin which I understand has now been retired.  

Last year I’d made a Cherry Chocolate Fudge cake in it but I’d never written the recipe down, the perfect excuse for me to bake it again! For the cherry flavours I used Sugar and Crumbs icing sugar and cocoa.

Ingredients

250g softened butter 

200g caster sugar

180g llight brown muscovado sugar

50g Sugar and Crumbs a Black Cherry Icing sugar

3 large eggs

225g plain flour (all purpose)

90g cocoa powder

1 teaspoon salt

1.5 teaspoons bicarbonate of soda

240ml buttermilk

135ml sour cream

Optional

French Glacé Cherries

Cherry Brandy
Cherry Chocolate Fudge Frosting 

3 oz butter or margarine

4 tablespoons cocoa – I used Sugar and Crumbs Chocolate Cherry cocoa powder 

8oz icing sugar

3 tablespoons evaporated milk

 

Method 

Preheat oven to 170 degrees.

Grease and flour your bundt tin.

If using the cherries, chop into quarters, pour some cherry brandy over them and put to one side. 

Cream the sugars and butter together.

Add the eggs one at a time.

Weigh out the dry ingredients and liquids.

Add one third of the dry ingredients, then half the liquid ingredients. Repeat then add the final third of the dry ingredients.

Pour into the two halves of the snowman tin.

Bake in the oven for 20 minutes. 

Remove from oven, add the soaked cherries into the body of the snowman cake. 

Return to the oven and bake in total for 60 minutes.

Turn out of tin and leave to cool. 

When cool stick the two halves of the cake together using the chocolate fudge. 

Ta dar! 

   

    
I stood my finished cake on some of the chocolate fudge and used Cadburys snowballs, edible white stars, icing sugar and edible silver iridescent glitter to decorate. 

I don’t mind sharing the bundt love but if you use this recipe please credit my HumbugsHouse blog because coming up with recipes isn’t always straightforward! 
 

Leave a Reply

