The Guards Van, Akeld, Nr Wooler, Northumbria

It’s not often I’m lost for words but sat here looking at a blank screen on my ipad that’s exactly what I am…
image
For Mr C’s birthday holiday (I don’t believe a birthday should just last one day) we’d planned to drive around Scotland but as my present to Mr C I’d planned a surprise at the beginning and I wanted to do something calm and relaxing at the end. Now I love google but sometimes even a search engine can’t quite find what you want… I hunted and hunted… I wanted luxury and a hot tub but nothing was jumping out at me.

After a couple of weeks of frustrated googling I came across a website called www.quirkyaccom.com I searched it a couple of times still not finding our final destination… there are some wonderful properties around the country… I was looking closer to home and North Yorkshire then I searched Northumbria, a county we’ve both fallen in love with, we’ve spent the last two Christmas weeks up in Belford.

Sat watching tv with Mr C one night and Bing bam boom… The Guards Van! Quirky, cosy, relaxing, hot tub and better still for my geekiness… an old TRAIN carriage! How I stopped myself grinning I don’t know, breathe, keep calm… oh my god I was shaking and feeling giddy just reading about it!  An hour later we were booked in for two nights!

2015-07-02 11.26.29

2015-07-02 11.26.09
image
image
We arrived yesterday afternoon after driving down from Edinburgh, as I said at the beginning of this blog I’m speechless. I want to live here forever! I slept so well last night, Which is almost an impossibility due to my fibromyalgia.

I’m sat at the table on a comfy plaid chair with the windows open and the birds shouting outside… the wind is rustling in the trees and I feel free… I’m so relaxed and very comfortable.

I really can’t put into words how perfect this place is… There is everything I need and nothing I don’t need. Everything has a place and a use. It is luxurious and like a Tardis bigger on the inside than it looks. The Guards Van identity is on the mugs and the towels, everything is of a very high quality. The bedroom is cosy and the bed is comfy with crisp white bedding, my head just fell into the perfect pillows last night and there’s a deep mattress topper all making this a four if not five star accommodation.

There’s a booklet on the shelves telling the story of Akeld Station where The Guards Van is located along with The Warehouse which is a larger holiday accommodation you can rent.
image
A quick drive into Wooler for some provisions and we’d then sat in the hot tub yesterday evening relaxing in the sunshine and Mr C had gone back out later watching the stars start to appear through the fairy lights above the decking.

We thought we’d had all the WOW factor when Louise appeared this morning with our Breakfast Hamper. Hence why I’m even more speechless this morning… the contents were bacon, four huge sausages, half a dozen local eggs, tomatoes, big field mushrooms, two small tins of baked beans, butter, a loaf of fresh bread, jam, marmalade, muesli, fresh coffee and a bag with warm pastries wrapped in a linen napkin… enough ingredients to cook breakfast for two days… we’d arrived to milk in the fridge and a packet of biscuits yesterday.

If I carry on typing I’ll end up babbling and the sunshine and hot tub are calling to me. Think we’re going to go and investigate Ford and Etal later, two of the local villages. I hope the following photos speak for themselves and show you just how amazing this little hideaway is.
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
Battery candles give a lovely affect on an evening with no risk from naked flames!
image
image
Low Akeld House… the old Station House.
2015-07-02 11.26.44
The Warehouse.
image

2015-07-02 11.26.38
We WILL return is all I need to say.

2015-07-02 11.27.03

2015-07-02 11.27.17

Morning two, another bag of warm pastries arrived with two more bottles of orange juice. Am very impressed at everything about this accommodation.
image
If you’d like to come and stay here contact Louise…

www.theguardsvan.co.uk

@WarehouseAkeld on Twitter

image

I have not been asked to make this review. All comments and moments of WOW are my own!

22 October 2015

We have just returned from our second stay at The Guards Van, this time we stayed for four nights. This is such a special place to stay. Once again Louise and Jim were the perfect hosts supplying delicious breakfast goodies and ensuring the hot tub was working perfectly. Lovely clear skies made star gazing from the hot tub a delight, we were there a few days before the clocks changed and that was a good time to stay as it was quite warm during the day and dark early making every hour perfect for hot tub relaxing. The heater in the living area of the carriage was perfect for staying cosy and warm inside. Our next stay is in April 2016, yes, we really love The Guards Van that much! The fact it’s in Northumbria makes it even better, a very special place to stay in one of our favourite counties.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Sharon says:

    Reblogged this on humbugshouse and commented:

    We’ve just returned from another wonderful stay at The Guards Van.

Leave a Reply

