Afternoon Tea, The Midland Hotel, Morecambe, Lancashire

Ladies who lunch is so last year… it’s all about Afternoon Tea this season!
image
As part of my mum’s recent trip down memory lane I treated her to Afternoon Tea at the Art Deco  4 *  Midland Hotel in Morecambe.
image

I love all the curves of this era, especially this wonderful staircase.

image

image
Little did I know that mum had never been in the hotel but she had often looked at it while sitting on a nearby stone jetty with her Grandpa in the 1950’s.

Afternoon Tea has two sittings every day and is served in a gorgeous sun terrace at the back of the hotel, overlooking Morecambe Bay.
image
image
As soon as we sat down mum realised the stone jetty was just across the promenade from where we were sat.  Memories overtook life for a few moments and then she took a photo or two once she’d caught her breathe.
image

The stone jetty.

It now has large rocks pushed up against it which is probably as a sea defence.

image

Good quality linen napkins are always a good sign.

image
I loved the clever mix of crockery, especially the bramble cup and saucer.
image

image
We were each given a complimentary glass of warm Strawberries and Cream tea which was really refreshing and unusual.

I chose the Earl Grey tea and mum had the CO2 Decaffeinated tea.

Ta dar… Afternoon Tea is served.
image
image
image
Six sandwiches each I think is an Afternoon Tea record.
image
Scones, oh how I love scones. One fruit and one plain each with scrummy strawberry jam and clotted cream.

Cream then jam or jam then cream?

Jam then cream for me… always!
image

2015-03-25 13.52.34
Mmmm pastries… what a selection. The Victoria Sandwich was as light as ever I’ve tasted and totally umptious!

The fruit and custard tarts looked like they were smiling at us and we took these back to our accommodation as were full up after everything else.  The staff were very organised and brought us a box to put them in.
image
image
This was a lovely Afternoon Tea that I highly recommend if you’re in the area.

When booking I said the treat was for my mum’s birthday so they’d scattered petals on our table and gave her a Midland Hotel card wishing her a happy birthday.

Afternoon Tea is £17.50 per person and their Cream Tea is £9.95 per person.

The Afternoon Tea Menu

The Midland, Marine Road West, Morecambe, Lancashire, LA4 4BU  

Email:   themidland@englishlakes.co.uk

Telephone: 01524 424000

Link to their website

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Wow! This is literally a 10 minute walk from my house! I grew up in Morecambe and moved back here from Liverpool almost 5 years ago! Glad you enjoyed it xx

    1. me says:

      I thought Morecambe was lovely too, a nice promenade for a short stroll with plenty of benches. My mum’s grandparents were on Balmoral Road which isn’t far away either! x

      1. Aww that’s lovely. It can be lovely here but it’s not what it was 15+ years ago when I was a child growing up. But having family around is good 🙂

      2. me says:

        Sending gentle hugs x

Leave a Reply

