The Food Academy, Leeds

The Food Academy is part of Leeds City College and is based at their new Printworks Campus on the edge of the city centre.

This is where the catering and butchery students are based and they run the Deli cafe and counter as well as the restaurant.

I’ve been before with my friend for coffee and we also bought some goodies from the Deli, her son is a first year student there.

Today we decided to eat in the restaurant. It’s is advisable to book  a table but we were lucky that they weren’t fully booked.
image
image
image
I like food and eating out as you all know and enjoy dirty burgers to Michelin star dining experiences so I wasn’t really sure what to expect but I must say I was very impressed.

We decided to have two courses, a main and dessert.

The bread was delicious and was fresh from the oven.
image
My friend chose the Pork Chop with spelt, grelate onions and fondant potatoes.
image
I decided on the Treacle Braised Ox Cheek with cauliflower cheese, kale, roasted garlic and there was a lovely dauphinoise potato stack.
image
For dessert my friend chose Chocolate Delice with orange ice cream.
image
I asked my friend’s son what he would recommend and he suggested I chose the Chestnut Mousse with chocolate soil, beetroot cake and Horlics sorbet. Wow! I am so glad that I chose this as it was delicious.
image
The only complaint we had was that the fondant potato was quite hard, they did bring another one out  for my friend but that was even worse. A fondant potato should be lovely and buttery and just melt in your mouth so it needed longer in the cooking process with more attention and correct timing. But a small complaint for a lovely meal.

The coffee is lovely too, very rich in flavour.

I highly recommend and will definitely be eating there again.

The restaurant and deli are open in term time only and if you go on the website you can print a 15% voucher off.

The Deli is open Monday to Friday 8.30-3pm.

The restaurant is open:
Mon 5-7pm Early Bird
Tues, Wed, Thurs 12-3pm & 6.30-9.30pm
Fri 12-3pm

They often do special occasion meals such as Valentines and Mother’s Day so make sure you book in to avoid disappointment. Other events include talks and workshops with meals. There are details of all events on their website and facebook page.

The restaurant is accessible for disabled diners and there are two disabled spaces in the car park with other visitor spaces available in the car park at the back just inside the barrier on the left.

The Food Academy
Printworks Campus
123 Hunslet Road
LEEDS
LS10 1JY

0113 284 6262
printworks@foodacademyleeds.co.uk

http://www.foodacademyleeds.co.uk

@TheFoodAcademy on Twitter
FoodAcademyLeeds on facebook

2 Comments Add yours

  1. I am going to have to try this place! It looks divine! X

    1. me says:

      Definitely recommend it s x

Leave a Reply

