Pina Colada Bundt Cake

Sometimes an ingredient is the inspiration for a great cake recipe.  I recently received a packet of Sugar and Crumbs ‘Pineapple’ Icing Sugar.  This sugar had been recommended to me by a few Clandestine Cake Club friends, Em, Clare and Lynn.  So my chance to finally give this product a try… I can honestly say I’m hooked.  It’s a very fine icing sugar with the most amazing flavour, a bit like sherbert tasting divine!  My friend Clare mentioned I could add it to a cake as I would normal sugar so the idea grew from there, what did I like that had pineapple in it?  Pina Colada seemed the perfect idea!  This is a base recipe that I’ve been working on for a while but I usually have sour cream but couldn’t get hold of any so used buttermilk instead.  To make buttermilk put a tablespoon of lemon juice OR white wine vinegar into the amount of milk to be used.

Recipe

225g unsalted butter

250g caster sugar

100g Sugar and Crumbs Pineapple icing sugar

4 large eggs

320g plain flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

230ml buttermilk (or sour cream)

1 tablespoon rum

75g dessicated coconut

Method

Preheat your oven to 170 degrees

Grease and dust your bundt tin

Cream the sugar and butter

Add the eggs one at a time

Add one third of the dry ingredients, then half the liquid, continue this sequence using the last third of the flour at the end

Fold in the coconut ensuring the mix is well combined

Bake for 60-70 minutes until the cake bounces back or no mix comes off on a skewer

Leave to cool before decorating

 

To decorate

Pineapple flowers – see my blog post on how to make these https://humbugshouse.wordpress.com/2014/10/24/pineapple-flowers/

Dessicated coconut – for sprinkling on the cake

20g Sugar and Crumbs Pineapple icing sugar

230g icing sugar

500g butter

Method

Cream the sugars and butter together and put into an icing bag with a small star nozzle

Use the pineapple flavoured icing sugar to decorate the cake then sprinkle with the dessicated coconut

Place the pineapple flowers on the top of the cake

Ta dar… the finished cake

2014-10-20 18.34.03

 

I don’t mind sharing the cake love and my recipes but please credit my blog and put a link to this page if you do make this cake and blog about it yourself.  Thank you!

3 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

