Cantina Ventnor, Ventnor, Isle of Wight

What a lovely little find. Huge thanks to @MattandCatt on Twitter for the recommendation.
imageAn Italian bakery and cafe on the High Street in Ventnor. Ventnor is a beautiful little seaside town with many Victorian features and twirly little roads that look almost single track but no, you could actually pass another car trying to come in the opposite direction on a steep corner…. eek!
image
image
image
Mr C ordered a strawberry milkshake and I chose a Limonata.
image
image
I think I want what he’s got!!! Oh my!
image
We’d been travelling all morning, up to Southampton and then on the ferry to the Isle of Wight. So a perfect lunch stop just before 1pm. For our lunch we ordered Swabian noodles with mushrooms, red onions and mature cheese. I chose a tomato, red onion, olive, crouton and basil salad with balsamic dressing and a baked fig with honey, toasted walnuts and cheese.

Oh my they looked divine and tasted amazing. The flavours and colours in my salad were out of this world.
image
image
image
image
For dessert we ordered a slice of brownie and a salted caramel fondant with vanilla ice cream and almond brioche crumb. Mr C also ordered a coffee.
image
image
image
image
The fondant was oozing with caramel and the ice cream was speckled with vanilla. The brownie was lush, enough crunch on top and gooey on the inside.

To take away for tea we bought a ham, onion and cheddar quiche and an olive foccacia. There was no way I wasn’t trying their baked goods but I really was full to the brim after my lunch… and yes I did share my fondant with Mr C!!

image
image

image
Would highly recommend this little cafe for eat in or take out and try them for lunch or diner. Lots of lovely shops nearby too so recommend a bit of time in Ventnor if you can.

No one has asked or paid me to make this review. All comments are my own.

Leave a Reply

