The Yachtsman, Hamworthy, Near Poole, Dorset

We tried a pub first in Poole town centre but it wasn’t really an eating pub but I can confirm that the Mermaid Ale made by Milk Street Brewery of Frome tasted lovely.

I then jumped onto google and came across The Yachtsman in Hamworthy just across from Poole.

So zooming across the water on an ace lifting bridge we arrived at the second pub.

Oh my… all I’ll be able to tell you about this pub now is the pie I’ve just devoured!

I chose the Steak and Tanglefoot Pie (EBLEX England’s Best Steak Pie 2013 Gold Medal Winner). I changed the buttered mash to chips. Heaven… heaven in a pie crust! I love pie almost as much as I love cake… but I’m fussy… I like shortcrust pastry… and how I beamed from ear to ear when it arrived and I saw it wasn’t puffy and crispy but perfect shortcrust heaven.

image

image

Mr C chose the Fish and Chip Shop Platter. What a delicious plateful tjis was too. The scampi was a good quality and the fishcake was divine. The fish tasted so fresh and the batter was light and just enhanced the flavour of the fish.

image

image

So delicious and filling I couldn’t even manage a dessert!  Me turning down sugary delights? It does happen sometimes!!

I did order a coffee and was excited to see a yummy piece of fudge on my saucer.

Mr C had a couple of pints of beer, Badger’s ‘First Hop’ and ‘Brewers Bee’. Not usually a fan of honey bees but he enjoyed the Brewers Bee best.

A lovely pub, nice staff, lovely decoration and a nice beer garden with plenty of parking outside.

No one asked me or paid me to make this review. All comments are my own.

Leave a Reply

