Blueberry, Elderflower and Lime Bundt Cake

on

Our latest themed Clandestine Cake Club was ‘Showstopper Cakes’.  I’d ordered a new butterfly bundt tin, the one that I’d wanted for well over a year! So I had my tin, now I needed some showstopping flavours… mmmmm favourite summer flavours that would work together. I made one cake as a tester for the guys at work using fresh blueberries and and elderflower cordial but something was missing. I kept my thinking cap on and then lime zest came to me, zingy limes always add an amazing flavour and are becoming my citrus fruit of choice. So my plan had come together, now to work out my recipe. I’ve found that sour cream adds an amazing texture to bundt cakes so I built my recipe around that.  This is a recipe that I’ve been working on for a while as a base for any flavour.

Recipe

225g unsalted butter

350g caster sugar

4 large eggs

320g plain flour (keep some to one side to coat the blueberries and zest with)

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

230ml sour cream

1-2 tablespoons elderflower cordial

200g fresh blueberries

zest of two limes

icing sugar to dust when cooled – I used water icing and sprinkles to decorate my butterfly bundt

Method

Preheat your oven to 170 degrees

Cream the sugar and butter

Add the eggs one at a time

Shake the blueberries and zest in the spare flour and put to one side

Add one third of the dry ingredients, then half the sour cream and cordial, continue this sequence using the last third of the flour at the end

Fold in the blueberries and zest ensuring the mix is well combined

Bake for 60-70 minutes until the cake bounces back or no mix comes off on a skewer

Leave to cool

Dust with icing sugar or decorate

 

This cake was lovely, very tasty and full of summer flavours and it was still moist five days after baking.

2014-07-18 19.48.33
2014-07-18 21.32.05

 

We all love to share recipes, please remember to credit me if you pass on this recipe or re-blog it as this is one of my own making and not copied from anyone else.  Thank you.

 

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

