Crochet Edged Pillow Cases

I saw this done ages ago and then saw some lovely finished pillowcase edges at Inkwell’s May Day celebrations earlier this month.

So when I’ve seen something I like I know that eventually I will have a go myself.

Today Tesco brought my shopping, in my order was a pack of two plain cream pillowcases and the current issue of Simply Crochet. What a lovely surprise to see one of the items was adding a crochet hem to a cotton skirt. The exact instructions that I needed to do my pillowcase edges.

I used crochet cotton in lilac and pale blue.

The initial round was blanket stitch followed by two rounds of crochet making up a scalloped edge.

A lovely simple idea that can be used on pillowcases, sheets and towels.

Simple crochet making things individual and perfect for my pretty spare room!

image

image
image
image

4 Comments Add yours

  1. I really want to try that myself!

    1. humbugshouse says:

      The hardest part was the blanket stitch… a stitch I’ve always struggled with. You then use that as the base for your crochet. So simple and so effective when you’ve finished! 🙂

  2. You did a great job they look really pretty.

  3. Josie says:

    I really need to learn to crochet so that I can add an edging to bunting. I love what you have done!

Leave a Reply

