Toy Elephant / Elephant Pin Cushion

After watching the latest series of Sewing Bee I wanted to make a dog pin cushion.

So I trawled the internet looking for patterns, so a cute Radley style scottie dog but couldn’t find a free pattern.

I then discovered a toy Elephant pattern… my perfect pin cushion!

I have lots of lovely fabrics in my sewing box so it wasn’t hard to find two pretty contrasting patterns and some pretty heart shaped buttons.

A really nice project to make that took just under two hours to make which isn’t bad as I still consider myself a beginner.

My first elephant had to be finished tonight so I could give her to my friend Jessica who I’m seeing tomorrow. Jessica is my inspiration for all things dressmaking and sewing machine related, she’s amazing and very talented.

So meet Eleanor, Ellie for short! She’s now living near York with a gorgeous cat called Belle!

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

I found this pattern at
http://ideas.stitchcraftcreate.co.uk/free-soft-toy-sewing-patterns-elephant/

There’s lots of other lovely craft ideas on the website.

My first ever part time job was stuffing Lion’s tails for a company called Big Softies who were based in Otley. I then spent many school holidays cutting out, stuffing and grooming huge life sized wild animals and then teddy bears so I suppose stuffing soft toys is in my blood!

6 Comments Add yours

  1. stellabranch says:

    I love her! I made a felt elephant when I was about 11 – but it wasn’t as pretty as her. I fancied a dog too after seeing Heather’s on Sewing Bee…☺️

    1. humbugshouse says:

      She’s lovely isn’t she! I gave her to my friend today and hopefully they’ll have a happy life together! πŸ™‚
      Mine is already cut out and I’ll try make her at the weekend.

  2. vjstracener says:

    That looks really neat.

    1. humbugshouse says:

      Thank you πŸ™‚

  3. Lorna says:

    That elephant pin cushion is gorgeous – you did a fabulous job. I too loved the dog pin cushion on the sewing bee – now that it has finished I am having withdrawal symptoms, are you?

    1. humbugshouse says:

      My sewing machine has been busy since it finished. Love programmes like that for inspiring me! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

