Pineapple Upside Down Sandwich Cake

on

My Clandestine Cake Club event in March 2014 had a theme of School Dinners… well my favourite meals at school included beetroot, roast potatoes and chocolate pudding and we once had donuts for dessert at middle school!

So what to bake?  I really couldn’t decide and everyone started mentioning cakes involving pink or green custard so I was running out of options.

In the end I decided to go for it on google… my usual way of choosing recipes!

I googled retro school dinners and somehow came up with this recipe for a Pineapple Upside Down Sandwich Cake!  I’ve always wanted to make a pineapple upside down cake and also wish I’d bought the Nordic Ware upside down tin when I saw it half price at TK Maxx!

So the magic began and the cake was baked.  Love the look of the pineapple on the top and the addition of cherry jam and mascapone sweetened with icing sugar in the centre made this cake very delicious and stopped it from being dry like some upside cakes end up.

Pineapple and cherry magic beginning to happen in my lined 20cm round tin.

2014-03-23 09.03.55

 

My top and bottom cooling after baking.2014-03-23 09.53.02

2014-03-23 09.53.09

 

Ta dar!  The finished cake.

2014-03-23 11.17.52

2014-03-23 11.17.56

2014-03-23 11.17.59

 

The cake at Clandestine Cake Club.

wpid-20140323_134914.jpg

 

2014-03-23 14.19.18

This is the recipe I used

http://www.bbcgoodfood.com/recipes/2955691/pineapple-and-cherry-upsidedown-sandwich-cake

One Comment Add yours

  1. Lorna says:

    Your cake looks yummy – I bet it tasted delicious – I made a very similar cake just a few weeks ago at the request of our youngest son. It brings back childhood memories for me.

Leave a Reply

