Crochet Lamp

on

Mr C saw this happening in stages but he couldn’t quite work out what I was up to.  I had an idea and wasn’t actually sure myself what the end result would be.  By looking on Pinterest I’ve noticed many items that people have totally changed the look of by using crochet. I recently changed an old plastic topped stool from the 1970’s with the addition of a granny square cover so that got me thinking and we all know that sometimes thinking can cause all sorts of mischief and magic!

2014-02-15 22.03.08

2014-02-15 22.03.16

I then stayed with my friend down in Lincoln and we spent all weekend talking about wool, what we’d made and what we wanted to make, we both mentioned covering lamps, though hers is rather large compared to my little bedside lamp!

Whilst at her house I saw a pattern for a tissue box cover which I went home and made a couple of days later.  Always looking for ideas when crochet is in your life!  The pattern was in Simply Crochet magazine.

2014-02-08 20.38.42
2014-02-08 20.38.35My finished box, perhaps I should have written the pattern down, just went a bit wrong on the corners but not bad for a first attempt.

2014-02-10 10.23.13-1

2014-02-10 21.43.27So back to the lamp… I knew what I wanted to do and I thought that using trebles would work best for the lamp base and stem and hen I used granny stripes for the lampshade.  This was going to be for our spare room where we’ve just put a bed and I’m making it pretty so the perfect place for brightly coloured crochet accessories.

I started and it just kept growing.

I love the end result and am very proud of my new bedside lamp.

Even Mr C had to admit that the end result looked good!  He’d not been that impressed as he saw all the different stages happen!

2014-03-14 21.48.43

2014-03-14 21.48.50

2014-03-14 21.49.01

2014-03-14 21.49.09Not bad for a first attempt, I might work on my granny stripe spacing if I do another lamp.

2014-03-29 13.56.42In place in our spare room.

A great way to rejuvenate anything from a chair to a lamp!

Follow me on Pinterest   http://www.pinterest.com/humbugshouse/

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Lorna says:

    I love your lamp – it is fabulous. Your tissue box cover is fab I think I might have to give that a try.

Leave a Reply

