Pistachio Bundt Cake

I was very lucky a few weeks ago to receive a box of goodies from Why Nut.  They sell nuts and nut pastes.  My box of goodies included some whole pistachios and pistachio paste so a cake had to be baked.

2013-10-12 10.23.29

I had never heard of nut paste before so wasn’t sure how to use it.  I did a bit of online research and still didn’t find much information so I decided to just go for it and bake a cake.  I couldn’t find any recipes so put one together myself.

I found there were lots of pistachio bundt cakes online but they were all american ones which used a white cake mix with a pistachio pudding mix so not very helpful to me with a cupboard full of sugar and flour!

20131208_190130Recipe

300g caster sugar

300g softened butter

6 eggs

225g self raising flour

100g pistachio paste

1.5 teaspoons baking powder

3 tablespoons milk (I used semi skimmed)

green food colouring (I love green but think I might have put a little too much gel colour in this cake)

Glace icing and pistachio nuts for decoration

Method

Cream the butter and sugar, add the eggs one at a time.  Pour in the dry ingredients, milk and food colouring and beat until combined.  Add the pistachio paste and mix gently.

Pour into a floured and greased bundt tin (or two lined 20cm cake tins)

Bake for 50 minutes at 170 degrees

I roughly chopped some of the whole pistachio nuts to decorate the top of my cake along with some white glace icing.  This is made using icing sugar with a small amount of cold water.  Add the water in small amounts to ensure it’s not too runny.

20131208_193115My prepared bundt tin.  I chose to use my Nordic Ware Gugelhupf tin along with my lovely bright green batter.

20131208_193310

20131208_193437The baked cake.  Let it cool for a few minutes before turning out onto a cooling tray.

20131208_202943Cooling the cake before decoration.

20131208_203521Some white glace icing and chopped pistachios help to hide the secret inside the cake.

20131208_211235This cake tasted and smelt divine.  When sliced this cake looked like christmas trees due to the colour and the shape of my Nordic Ware Gugelhupf tin.
image
image

More information about Why Nut’s products can be found at http://www.whynut.co.uk/

Their pistachio paste was a really easy way to get a great taste into my cake giving it a smooth texture but with all the flavour of the nuts.

I was not paid to make this review and all comments are my own.

 

 

 

 

 

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

