‘English Rose’ Loaf Cake

‘English Rose’ Loaf Cake

This was a tester cake for something I’m thinking of baking for a future Clandestine Cake Club event.

When I was up in Newcastle last month I bought some Essence of Rose Water and some Edible Rose Petals from Fenwicks… I could feel a plan forming.

IMG_20130630_192745[1]

As this was a tester cake I reduced the quantities I would have used for a full cake.  I made this cake in a 1lb loaf tin.

Recipe

116g butter

166g caster sugar

2 large eggs

66g vanilla yoghurt

166g plain flour

1tsp baking powder

2 tbsp essence of rose water

To Decorate

Icing sugar

Essence of rose water

Dark pink food colouring

There was a subtle taste of rose in this cake so I might try another rose flavouring for the cake.  The icing tasted very light and delicate and the edible rose petals were a lovely finishing touch, along with some edible glitter!

2013-07-21 14.17.29

2013-07-21 14.17.08

2013-07-21 14.23.19

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Ev says:

    That looks beautiful!! I didn’t know you could buy rose petals in a jar like that. Looks great – am going to have to try to hunt some down for myself now. 🙂

    1. humbugshouse says:

      They’re lovely aren’t they. You could get sugared petals too s x

  2. That looks so pretty. X

  3. This is so pretty. I love those edible rose petals, I’ve never seen them before! x

Leave a Reply

