Corned Beef Pie

Corned Beef Pie

IMAG0992

Mr C and I both like corned beef hash, but the Curly One doesn’t.  Since he’s been away at University he’s been cooking for himself, sharing the cooking and expense of some meals with friends and eating different foods to those he would at home.

Whilst home for Christmas the Curly One was working his shelf stacking job at the local supermarket and one day I happened to walk past him and two other young male members of staff looking in awe at a tin of corned beef.  When he got home later I jokingly said ‘how many men does it take to open a tin of corned beef?’  But how do you do it was his reply!  I said it’s a shame you don’t like corned beef hash, he answered no but I like corned beef pie!

So on my next shopping trip I bought a couple of tins of corned beef.  I then showed the Curly One how to open the tin, the bit they hadn’t worked out was you actually had to take the key off the tin and turn it round!  Isn’t education a wonderful thing, these youngsters are our future!

So how did I make corned beef pie?  I made corned beef hash and put it inside pastry!  Perfect comfort food and I must admit mine has to have a large blob of tomato sauce next to it!

Ingredients

Shortcrust pastry (ready rolled if you want to cheat)

Two tins of Corned beef

One small onion finely chopped  (we only had a jar of pickled onions so I rinsed them and sliced into smaller pieces)

Two potatoes – mashed

Worcestershire sauce

Salt and pepper to taste

Method

Peel, chop and mash the potatoes.  I don’t add butter or milk as I would with a side of mashed potatoe.

Chop the onions and corned beef.

Mix the ingredients together and add Worcestershire sauce and seasoning to taste.

Line a pie dish with pastry, fill with the corned beef mixture, add a top.

Egg wash and bake for approximately 30 minutes at 200 degrees.

My boys both enjoyed this cold the next day for their lunch.

One Comment Add yours

  1. dollybakes says:

    Actual genius! I’m doing this one!

Leave a Reply

