Spiced Pumpkin Syrup

Spiced Pumpkin Syrup

Earlier this year I met up with my lovely friend Andrew (@CatchKitey on Twitter) in Covent Garden, London for a coffee and we swapped homemade goodies that we’d made each other following a facebook post.

My gift to Andrew was some chilli jam and a cross stitch keyring with his KitchedAid mixer Nigella on it!

Andrew’s gitt to me was a bottle of Spiced Pumpkin Syrup with the instructions on how to make a Pumpkin Spiced Latte on the label!  How exciting!  I’ve never really been one for milky drinks but I suddenly realised that I’d been missing out on an amazing array of coffees!

Andrew’s instructions said to keep the bottle of pumpkin elixir in the fridge and use within a few weeks… I found it not only worked in a latte but also in an espresso… the earthiness of the pumpkin and spices is divine.

So now it’s pumpkin season again I thought I’d make my own spiced pumpkin syrup and as I’d just made pumpkin puree from a huge pumpkin I had the perfect excuse!

The recipe I used was:

3 cups water

3 cups granulated sugar

2 cinnamon sticks

2 teaspoons ground ginger

2 teaspoons ground nutmeg

2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

6 tablespoons pumpkin puree

This made 3 small bottles of syrup.

Due to the calorific value and the fact I’m awaiting a gallbladder operation I do have to keep milky drinks to an all time low at the moment!  So thank heavens for the good old faithful Black Americano!

My recipe was made up from reading 3 or 4 different versions via google.

Link to my Spiced Pumpkin Bundt Cake recipe

https://humbugshouse.wordpress.com/2012/10/19/spiced-pumpkin-bundt/

Link to my Pumpkin Puree recipe

https://humbugshouse.wordpress.com/2012/10/19/pumpkin-puree/

My lovely friend Andrew’s blog can be found at

http://catchkitey.tumblr.com/

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

