Spiced Pumpkin Bundt

Spiced Pumpkin Bundt

Pudsey & West Leeds Clandestine Cake Club – 30 October 2012

I am not a Halloween type of person at all but with cake in my life this year I’m finding that I have no choice! I’m going to a halloween/bonfire CCC event and am also running one with the theme ‘Things that go bump in the night… your worst nightmare’, so the ideas are starting to flow about the actual cake and the dreaded decoration!

I’ve also recently discovered that I like cinnamon so I have lots of new cake ideas to try.  I’ve spent all my life hating the smell and taste and now I’m liking so many more foods both savoury and sweet.

So I started researching pumpkin cakes, looking particularly for bundt cakes.  These usually have a higher sugar content and are cooked at a low heat for longer than a normal victoria sandwich would be.

I came across a Martha Stewart recipe and thought I’d make that.  I bought a huge pumpkin and spent hours making it into pumpkin puree and the following night decided to try my cake.  Probably a shame that I didn’t check I’d got all the ingredients!  So this is the recipe that I used in the end and it tastes wonderful.  I think I might put more ginger and cinnamon in it next time I bake this which will be for a Clandestine Cake Club later this month.

Recipe

Spray olive oil and plain flour for my tin preparation
8oz unsalted butter slightly melted
1 cup golden caster sugar
1 cup dark brown sugar
1/2 cup light brown sugar
4 large eggs
4 cups plain flour
4 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon ground ginger
2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon nutmeg
1 cup buttermilk (1 cup of full fat milk with a tablespoon of white wine vinegar – leave to stand for 5 minutes)
2 cups fresh pumpkin puree

Method

Preheat the oven to 175 degrees.

Prepare your bundt tin.

I beat the sugar and butter together on a slow setting in Ken and then added the eggs one at a time.

In a separate bowl mix all your dry ingredients together.

I then slowly added the milk and flour mix alternately by hand and then added the pumpkin, mixing well until everything was combined.

Carefully spoon your mixture into your prepared bundt tin.

Only fill two thirds full and gently tease the mixture up the side.

Bake for 55 minutes until a skewer comes out clean and you can see the bundt coming away from the side of the tin.  I baked this for 1hr 5 mins in total.

The start of the pumpkin preparation
The start of the pumpkin preparation
Measuring my pumpkin puree into ‘cups’ to store in the freezer for later use
My spiced pumpkin bundt just out of the oven
My Nordic Ware Fleur de Lis bundt tin

Small spiced pumpkin bundts cooling
Little tester loaf of my Spiced Pumpkin Bundt
Little tester loaf of my Spiced Pumpkin Bundt

I enjoy baking cakes and am especially enjoying the discovery of bundt cakes at the moment.  I feel that  I’m no good at decorating cakes and making them look pretty.  I come from an artistic family but I really struggle with getting something to look like I imagined it would.

Anyway here are some of my trial Halloween cake ideas!

We’ve had to start eating this cake now as it was having a personality crisis!

Sainsburys in Whitby… the journey begins
I’m sure red is different to ginger
I think I preferred the red wig! But this would look good on a cake!
Not sure abut this!

I now know how Mr Messy feels but at least he was pink!

Starting to feel scared!
This is beyond a joke now!

Not looking that bad at all really!
My cake that attended York Clandestine Cake Club on Monday 29 October 2012
My cake that attended York Clandestine Cake Club on Monday 29 October 2012

My cake that attended York Clandestine Cake Club on Monday 29 October 2012

For York Clandestine Cake Club on 29 October I baked a round spiced pumpkin bundt cake, then put a sheet of ready rolled icing over my cake (I have a love hate relationship with my rolling pin and fondant icing!)  The placed a little head on top, this was from Wilkinsons and when you press a button on the bottom it morphs through different colours.  A couple of icing bats and a simple but effective Halloween cake.

So will you discover the addiction of the bundt cake?  I hope you will.

National Bundt Day UK is 15 November 2012

http://www.dollybakes.co.uk/2012/10/NationalBundtDayUK.html

Link to my Pumpkin Puree recipe

https://humbugshouse.wordpress.com/2012/10/19/pumpkin-puree/

Link to my Spiced Pumpkin Syrup recipe

https://humbugshouse.wordpress.com/2012/10/19/spiced-pumpkin-syrup/

The original Martha Stewart bundt recipe that I used as my inspiration http://www.marthastewart.com/315295/spicy-pumpkin-bundt-cake

3 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

