Crochet… A little bit of determination and a lot of time and I can finally do it!

Crochet… A little bit of determination and a lot of time and I can finally do it!

I am so proud of the bag that I have just made that I need to show it off!  I couldn’t crochet, well I’d never tried.  I can hand sew and cross stitch and just about knit a scarf and use a sewing machine if it involves straight lines!  I first attempted crochet at the WI in April 2012 and was a complete failure and tried to do it left handed.  I just couldn’t control my fingers and got in a knot with my wool and myself.

I then mangaed a little bit of crochet after watching many youtube videos but still couldn’t work out anything else and was at this point getting rather frustrated!

Anyone who knows me will realise I’m determined but I was at the point of giving up!Image

After talking to a friend at one of my Clandestine Cake Club events I arranged to meet her for a coffee at the beginning of June and she showed me how to make a simple granny square… Image

This took 2 hours but we did have coffee and cake at the wonderful Sebbys Deli in Far Headingley, Leeds.  Thank you to Helen and Rob for putting up with us!

I then went home and made this square bigger…Image

I’ve then persevered and worked at it and made a small blanket of granny square (need to take a photo of the bigger finished blanket)

Image

Two round cushions

Image

Image

Image

then a roll to keep my crochet hooks in

Image

then a little purse

Image

Image

Image

and now a bag!  The picture in my book looked rather daunting…

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

The finished bag!

Image

Image

Image

I am so proud of myself and my new hobby.

Not just my crochet but also my sewing machine skills are improving all the time.

Just proves that if you want to do something keep trying and you’ll amaze yourself!

I think crochet is so brilliant, a metal hook and a ball of wool and something pretty spectacular can be achieved once you leave a few stitches and the hardest part is getting your fingers to be in the right place and understanding a crochet pattern as everything is abbreviated!

Leave a Reply

