Vegan Carrot Cake

Vegan Carrot Cake

I’m trying to stick to a low fat, vegan friendly diet due to health concerns… but I’m craving cake!

So I was really pleased when @acedavesgirl from Twitter emailed me with lots of ideas along with a carrot cake recipe.  I still wasn’t sure that a vegan cake could taste good but after making some successful vegan cookies a couple of days ago I thought I’d give it a go… I wasn’t disappointed!

image

image

image

image

image

Recipe

8 oz plain flour
8 oz roughly grated carrot
4oz caster sugar or brown sugar
4 oz dairy free margarine (Vegan friendly)
4 oz sultanas or raisins
1 tbsp GF baking powder
50 ml apple juice (or orange juice, or mulled cider)
1 tsp mixed spice or cinnamon

(For this cake I used 2.5 oz raisins with 1.5 oz chopped pecan nuts.  I also used 1.5 oz fruit sugar instead of 4 oz brown or caster sugar)

Method

Start by soaking the dried fruit in the liquid and spice until nice and plump.
Roughly grate the carrots.
Melt the margarine and sugar together in a pan over a low heat, add the fruit mixture and warm through.
Using a wooden spoon add the flour then the carrot.
Pour into a lined 2 lbs loaf tin.
Bake at 200 C for 45-55 minutes. Mine took 55 minutes.
Cool on a wire rack.

A huge thank you to Leila – @acedavesgirl on Twitter for sharing this recipe! I really appreciated all her advice.

Leave a Reply

