Weekly Bake Off – Mary Berry’s Lemon Yoghurt Cake – 13 March 2012

Weekly Bake Off – Mary Berry’s Lemon Yoghurt Cake – 13 March 2012

Amy is the person who created weekly bake off.  She’s working her way through the Mary Berry book ‘100 Cakes and Bakes’ and decided to open it up to followers on twitter.  So after reading about this challenge on @WeeklyBakeOff I ordered my copy of the book, got an emergency copy of this week’s recipe via Dawn in Skipton @wildaboutbaking and went to the shop to buy greek yoghurt and lemons.  This recipe is from page 47 of the book.

      

I then sat and drooled over last week’s hokey pokey coffee cakes on the @WeeklyBakeOff blog which I know I will have to bake at some point… hokey pokey and coffee all in a cake!  Sounds divine!

Here’s the recipe:

300g (11oz) caster sugar
50g (2oz) butter, softened
3 large eggs, separated
225g (8oz) Greek-style yoghurt
zest of 1 lemon
175g (6oz) self-raising flour

For the icing:

100g (4oz) sifted icing sugar
about 1 1/2 tbsp lemon juice

Step One Preheat the oven to 180C/Fan 160C/Gas 4. Grease the cake tin and line the base with non-stick baking parchment.

Step Two Beat together the sugar, butter and egg yolks in a bowl. Add the yoghurt and lemon zest and beat until smooth. Gently fold in the flour.

Step Three Whisk the egg whites to a soft peak and carefully fold into the mixture. Turn into the prepared tin.

Step Four Bake for 1-1 1/4 hours or until the cake is well risen and firm to the touch. Leave to cool in the tin for a few minutes then turn out, peel off the parchment and finish cooling on a wire rack.

Step Five To make the icing, mix together the sifted icing sugar and the lemon juice. Pour over the cold cake, smooth over with a palette knife and leave to set.

This was the first cake I’ve ever made where you’ve had to fold in egg whites so I was feeling rather nervous after reading the recipe.  But I carefully separated three eggs and put the whites into ‘Ken’ who whisked them perfectly to stiff peaks as per the instructions.

I don’t have 20cm cake tin.  I’ve recently bought two new spring release round tins but they are 23cms which means I have to increase the amounts of recipes.  I didn’t want to do this today so used one of my old faithful square silicon baking tins.

I carefully followed the instructions… I’m a great believer in ‘all in one’ cakes so didn’t want to make any mistakes by rushing the folding of the flour and then the whisked egg whites.

I actually used Total 0% yoghurt so hopefully my cake wasn’t too calorific!  Don’t think it made a difference to how the cake turned out.

Ken and my scales all ready to bake

I lovingly put my cake in the oven and waited… isn’t waiting the hardest part of baking!  Knowing that if you peak your cake could sink… I’m not a very patient person so waiting is never good especially where cake is involved.

The end result tasted divine.  Mr C took his first bite and said ‘oh, that’s so light and tasty and…’ his words were then lost in a second mouthful of cake.

I didn’t think this was the prettiest of cakes but it’s certainly a very lovely tasting cake.  Highly recommend.

My version of Mary Berry’s Lemon Yoghurt Cake.  Enjoy the photos.  It tasted every bit as good as it looks.

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Dawn says:

    Wow, that’s one generous portion! A quarter of a cake per slice – I like it 🙂

  2. humbugshouse says:

    No… we shared that between two of us!! That was just for the photo! You must think I’m a right little pig!

  3. Amy Johnson says:

    Well done this cake looks fab – you’re right about it’s appearance, really doesn’t do the taste of it justice. I couldn’t believe how springy the sponge was! X

  4. Karen C says:

    Lovely! Amazon are rushing a copy of Mary’s book over to me, so hoping I can join in this week! Super excited!

    Karen

  5. humbugshouse says:

    Yes Amazon are rushing a copy to me too! s x

  6. Mine is just out of the oven !!!!

  7. Mmmmmm I can imagine this does taste delicious…so moist with the yoghurt! I’d like to enter this week but may not find the time…but I’ll definitely save the recipe for another day! 🙂

    1. humbugshouse says:

      Morning, have a look at the bundt cake recipes I’ve got on my blog.
      Bundt cakes usually contain yogurt, sour cream or buttermilk which makes them really moist and very tasty.
      There is a recipe for Lemon Yogurt Bundt cake, just halve the mixture and bake in a 2lb loaf tin or bake in round or square cake tins.
      Happy baking!

  8. humbugshouse says:

    This post gets a lot of views on my blog.
    Please have a look at the other lemon yogurt cake/bundt recipes that I also have on my blog.
    We all love Mary Berry but remember other recipes are available
    Happy baking!!

Leave a Reply

